Diversion programs are sometimes available for first time offenders. Attorney Moore cautions however, that subsequent arrests for shoplifting and retail theft related offenses may result in enhanced charges and penalties. Furthermore, the type of item and value of property stolen may make the appropriate offense something other than shoplifting.
The crime of theft occurs when someone appropriates property that does not belong to him, using it himself or allowing another party to use the property. When the items taken were removed from a store, we refer to the offense as Shoplifting.
Attorney William Moore has defended people accused of shoplifting in Broward County for years.
Have attorney William R. Moore evaluate your theft case by completing our Shoplifting Arrest Evaluation Form.
Broward County shoplifting lawyers with over 50 years of combined experience practicing right here in Fort Lauderdale.
Contact our Shoplifting Defense Lawyers in Broward County Florida if you have been arrested.
Other types of theft crime include:
Changing the lock on a neighbor’s bicycle so that he is deprived of the ability to ride it could qualify as theft. Likewise, arranging for your girlfriend to take your employer’s company car out for a spin might also qualify as theft. The prosecution has the burden of proving beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed the elements of the crime.
Our Shoplifting Lawyers in Broward County have represented hundreds of people accused of theft.
Be Represented by the Leading Shoplifting Defense Attorneys in Broward County, Florida
There are two different types of Theift Crimes, Petit Theft and Grand Theft. Fort Lauderdale Theift attorneys at William Moore Criminal Defense not only provide years of knowledge and experience but also deliver legal representation that is steadfast fueled by determination. If you or a loved one has just been arrested for Petit Theft or Grand Theft in Broward County and now are facing criminal charges, contact shopping lifting attorney at William Moore Criminal Defense for immediate legal answers and available representation in Broward County. More information about our Criminal Lawyers Broward County.
Petit-Theft or Shoplifting in Florida
Shoplifting Attorneys caution that petit theft can be charged in either the first or second degree, depending on the facts of the case. First-degree petit theft is more serious and is punishable by fines, court costs, and up to one year in jail. Stealing property valued at between $100 and $300 is petit theft in most cases, as is stealing property valued at less than $100 if you have previously been convicted of theft. Second-degree petit theft occurs when the property is valued at less than $100 and is punishable by no more than sixty days in jail in addition to penalties such as a fine. Shoplifting is often charged as petit theft, depending on the value of the items allegedly taken. A qualified Fort Lauderdale criminal defense attorney will always try diligently to establish that the value of stolen items is far less than stated by the prosecution.
William Moore Criminal Defense Attorneys, The Leading Broward County Shoplifting Defense Lawyers
Grand Theft in Florida
Grand theft is a felony, meaning that the maximum sentence available is one year or more in prison. In cases where the property is valued at between $100 and $300, the crime is petit theft in most instances – unless it is taken from a home, during a burglary, or under similar circumstances.
Grand theft in the third degree also occurs whenever the property involved is valued at between $300 and $20,000, or is a certain kind of property. Thieving a will, firearm, fire extinguisher, certain chemicals, most motor vehicles, a stop sign, or even large amounts of citrus fruits constitute this crime. If convicted, the defendant can be sentenced to up to five years in prison.
Second-degree grand theft is charged when the property is valued at between $20,000 and $100,000. This charge can also be brought if the property is emergency medical equipment or is law enforcement property when the items are valued at $300 or more. A second-degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
If the state charges grand theft in the first degree, the prosecution must show that the property in question was valued at a minimum of $100,000 or met certain other criteria. Fort instance, a law enforcement agency’s semitrailer would qualify. If the offender causes damage exceeding $1,000 to the property, regardless of its value, the state can charge it as a first-degree felony.
Additionally, if the offender used a motor vehicle during the crime – except as simply a getaway car – the state may pursue this charge. First-degree grand theft is punishable by as much as 30 years in prison in addition to other penalties. Experienced criminal defense attorneys will tell you that any theft case of this magnitude is likely to have a victim who pushes for a lengthy probationary sentence so that restitution may be recovered over time.