In order to commit criminal mischief, a person must purposely and with intent injure someone or damage property. According to our Broward County Criminal Attorneys, an example of criminal mischief is putting graffiti on someone else’s property.
If the damage from the criminal mischief you created is less than $200, it is considered a second-degree misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment up to 60 days and/or a fine of up to $500.If the damage is between $200 and $1,000, it is considered a first-degree misdemeanor and punishable by up to one year imprisonment and/or a $1,000 fine.
If any business or public service (communications, transportation, water, gas or power supply) or any other public service is damaged, and the labor is more than $1,000, you could be charged with a third-degree felony.
The Lawyers from our Broward County Office warn that if you have previous convictions under the criminal mischief statute, you may be charged with a third-degree felony instead of a misdemeanor. Delray Beach is especially tough on repeat offenders for vandalism. If you deface, injure or damage any place of worship, including but not limited to churches, synagogues, and mosques – or any articles contained within such place of worship – you may be charged with a third-degree felony, if the damage is over $200.
If convicted, you may also be ordered to pay for the damage you created, in addition to imprisonment and fines. If you are convicted of defacing property with graffiti, you may be charged as follows, in addition to any other criminal penalty:
- $250 or more for first conviction
- $500 or more for second conviction
- $1,000 or more for third or subsequent conviction
You may also be required to perform at least 100 hours of community service, involving the removal of graffiti. Criminal michief charges are taken very seriously in states like Florida, handing out some of the strictest sentences in the state.
If you are a minor at the time of your conviction (of criminal mischief by way of graffiti), your parent or legal guardian may get stuck paying the fine. If you are found to be indigent, or otherwise do not have the ability to pay the fine, the Court may waive the fine. If you are a minor with a driver’s license, you may have your license revoked for up to one year. You may be able to reduce the term of suspension at the rate of one day for each hour of community service performed.
Related Articles & Posts
- Criminal Mischief
- South Florida Criminal Mischief Defense Attorney
- Can I be charged with a felony if I was arrested for theft valuing over $300?
- Criminal Charge vs. Civil Infraction
- Criminal Sentencing in Florida
- Credit Card Conviction in South Florida
- Fraudulent Insurance Application
- Unlawful Use of Badges
- Computer Crime Laws in Florida
Criminal Defense Hotline: (954) 523-5333
Speak to a veteran 20 year career criminal lawyer from our Law Firm right here in Broward County.
Any Day/Any Hour, No Waiting, No Consultation Fee
Additional crime topics
- DUI Defense
- Finding the "Best DUI Lawyer in Broward County"
- DUI in Florida
- Florida DUI Law
- What are the penalties for a DUI conviction?
- DUI Practice & Procedure
- Where are Florida DUI Checkpoints?
- Florida DUI Facts
- Defending DUI is Complex
- Repeat DUI
- Self-Representation - Public Defenders
- Challenging Breath Test Results
- Our Broward County DUI Defense Book
- Crime of Fraud
- Disorderly Conduct
- Criminal Mischief
- Shoplifting Lawyers
- Common Criminal Charges
- Grand Theft Auto
- Assault and Battery
- Domestic Battery
- Juvenile Delinquency
- Court Hearings & Motions
- Pre-Trial Motions & Criminal Trial
- Pre-Trial Motions Criminal Law Question & Answer by our Fort Lauderdale Lawyers
- After the Arrest
- Setting a Bond Hearing
- Miranda Rights
- The Officer Didn't Read Me My Rights
- How is a Motion to Suppress Used by the Defense?
- Identification Evidence
- Voice Identification
- Fingerprint Evidence
- Double Jeopardy
- Jurisdiction Limitations of Police Officers
- Plea Agreements in Florida
- Plea Deals
- Violation of Probation