Lewd and lascivious behavior is punishable as a Florida Sex Offense. As per Florida statute, claims Broward Sex Offender Attorney William Moore, “Any man and women, not being married to each other, associate and cohabit together displaying a lewd and lascivious behavior or if any man or women, married or unmarried, engage in open and vulgar lewdness and lascivious behavior, then he/she would be liable for misdemeanor charges.”
Definition pertaining to Florida Sex Offenses like Lewd-Lascivious Behavior
According to criminal Attorneys who defend Florida Sex Offenses, the words “lewd” and “lascivious” mean the same thing and are defined as an evil, immoral, shameless, unchaste, or bodily objective on the part of the person doing an act.
There are various types of lewd and lascivious acts according to Sex Crime Attorneys in Fort Lauderdale:
Lewd and Lascivious Conduct as a Florida Sex Offense
In Florida the offense of lewd and lascivious conduct means purposely touching a person under 16 years of age in a lewd or lascivious manner or soliciting a person under 16 years of age to involve into a lewd or lascivious conduct.
Lewd and Lascivious Battery Sex Offenses
If a person is involved with a person of 12 years of age but less than 16 years of age and forces or entices the person of less than 16 years of age to get involved in sadomasochistic abuse, prostitution, or sexual activity then he/ she is liable for lewd and lascivious battery charge.
Lewd and Lascivious Molestation
It is considered an act of lewd and lascivious molestation if the person allures the person below 16 years to touch himself/herself or purposely touches the genital organs or clothing covering them of a person who is less than 16 years of age in a lewd and lascivious manner, then he/she is liable for lewd or lascivious molestation charge.
Lewd and Lascivious Exhibition
A person commits a lewd and lascivious exhibition if he/she intentionally masturbates or depicts genitals in a lewd or lascivious way or deliberately involves in a sexual act which is beyond sadomasochistic abuse or sexual bestiality in front of a person who is less than 16 years of age, then he/she is liable for the charge of lewd and lascivious exhibition.
Broward County Sex Offender Lawyers on Penalties:
If a person has been found to have committed the crime of alleged lewd and lascivious conduct then he/she is accountable for a felony of the third degree which may result in maximum imprisonment of five years or a minimum imprisonment of two and half year if the touching is alleged or a probation if only solicitation is suspected.
If a person has committed lewd and lascivious exhibition, then he or she has committed the crime of second degree and is liable for maximum 15 years prison time and a minimum trial of probation.
Lewd and lascivious molestation can lead to life felony, third degree felony and second degree felony depending on the age of the person who has been the victim of molestation. If it is a life felony then a person may have to spend maximum 25 years in jail and if it is a second and third degree felony, then it may result in maximum 15 years of imprisonment.
For lewd and lascivious battery, a person could be sentenced to a maximum 15 years imprisonment.
William Moore is a veteran Broward criminal lawyer with over 150 criminal jury trials under his belt. Remember, if you are looking for competent representation, always consider an attorney's past history and experience before deciding. Criminal convictions can be devastating on the accused and his or her family. Broward sex crimes lawyer Moore is an aggressive and experienced litigator with a strong local reputation. If you are searching for a sex offense attorney in the Broward area, chances are that you have already been told about the criminal attorneys at William Moore Criminal Defense.
Related Articles & Posts
- The Shoe Doesn't Fit: Defenses that won't work in Lewd and Lascivious Cases
- False Imprisonment
- Proving Statutory Rape in Florida
- Child Pornography
- Indecent Exposure
- Hollywood Criminal Defense Attorneys
- Can I be charged with a felony if I was arrested for theft valuing over $300?
- The West Palm Beach Criminal Lawyer: Weapon Offenses in Florida
- Florida Criminal Defense Attorney: Criminal Defense News
- Child Exploitation
Criminal Defense Hotline: (954) 523-5333
Speak to a veteran 20 year career criminal lawyer from our Law Firm right here in Broward County.
Any Day/Any Hour, No Waiting, No Consultation Fee
Additional crime topics
- DUI Defense
- Finding the "Best DUI Lawyer in Broward County"
- DUI in Florida
- Florida DUI Law
- What are the penalties for a DUI conviction?
- DUI Practice & Procedure
- Where are Florida DUI Checkpoints?
- Florida DUI Facts
- Defending DUI is Complex
- Repeat DUI
- Self-Representation - Public Defenders
- Challenging Breath Test Results
- Our Broward County DUI Defense Book
- Crime of Fraud
- Disorderly Conduct
- Criminal Mischief
- Shoplifting Lawyers
- Common Criminal Charges
- Grand Theft Auto
- Assault and Battery
- Domestic Battery
- Juvenile Delinquency
- Court Hearings & Motions
- Pre-Trial Motions & Criminal Trial
- Pre-Trial Motions Criminal Law Question & Answer by our Fort Lauderdale Lawyers
- After the Arrest
- Setting a Bond Hearing
- Miranda Rights
- The Officer Didn't Read Me My Rights
- How is a Motion to Suppress Used by the Defense?
- Identification Evidence
- Voice Identification
- Fingerprint Evidence
- Double Jeopardy
- Jurisdiction Limitations of Police Officers
- Plea Agreements in Florida
- Plea Deals
- Violation of Probation